Moonlit night

That light dances across your eyes,
That shrewd assassin in disguise,
Finds its trap already sprung.

To one accustomed to the dark,
As your eyes produce that spark,
It seems like the glaring sun.

It moves my very soul about,
As I catch your dreams fluttering out,
and sucks me into a reverie.

I then dream of much wished-for things
Of love that lifts, yet burns and stings,
Imprisons the heart, sets souls free.

Such longed-for confusion your laughter brings,
Every smile like a poisoned arrow springs,
Carrying Sorrow with its Delight.

My wishes will bring me to tears,
I too have now loved what disappears,
My bright day will soon, again, be night.

Salman Shahid Khan

Leave a Reply

